Home > WebApps > CORS Servlet Filter (…and jQuery JSONP tricks)

CORS Servlet Filter (…and jQuery JSONP tricks)

November 29, 2010

I was just about to start writing a CORS[1] servlet filter so that I can move one of my apps onto an independent EC2 host and give it more memory when I came across the CometD project [2] (DOJO event bus in Ajax, interesting in itself), which makes use of Jetty7’s CrossOriginFilter [3].

This seems to do all you need to allow your servlet interact with cross domain requests and built Javascript RIAs that mash up and link data, semantic or not. The filter allows a list of allowable domains to be set, among other things, so that you can add it to any of your servers, map it to any of your servlets, and allow different clients you trust and want access to your data to get to it.

Saves me having to write it, and it looked like it was going to be painful to do fully and correctly, so its a real relief to see in Jetty7. All credit to the developers there.

Not sure about the licensing aspects (EPL1 + Apache2) , but you can lift the source, remove the Eclipse logging dependency, and alter as you see fit for your version of servlet engine. I’m trying this now with Tomcat6 and another Jetty6 instance, just as soon as I can get my apps separated and onto different domains (without the filter, a request from localhost to a remote domain using jQuery seems to get thru just fine for some reason)

[1] http://www.w3.org/TR/access-control/
[2] http://cometd.org/
[3] http://download.eclipse.org/jetty/stable-7/apidocs/org/eclipse/jetty/servlets/CrossOriginFilter.html

Separating services onto different hosts on EC2

I wanted to move one of my http services (Joseki) onto a new host so as to be able to give the JVM more memory and avoid EC2 unceremoniously killing it when it asked for too much.  The tomcat service with the webapps would remain put. So I

  • created an AMI from my running instance
  • create a new instance from it
  • resinstalled ddclient because it didnt seem to work
  • created a new DynDNS account thinking it was tied to my account rather than the host, but that didnt make any difference
  • checked the ddclient cache file – it seemed to have the right ip addresses – ie one for the tomcat services, and another for the joseki host. However dyndns showed that all hostnames were backed by the same ip address. I suspected cache so i did a ‘sudo ddclient -force ‘ and this seems to have updated DynDNS correctly
  • changed my js files so that all sparql would be directed to the new Joseki host, and started testing

Getting JSONP where there is only JSON

Now I expected that things wouldn’t work – Joseki is on a different host than where the js files have been loaded from – making an Ajax call there shouldnt work should it – unless I was using jsonp – but Joseki doesnt do jsonp !

So, I checked my code, and it is making JSONP calls – I’m doing a jQuery $ajax call like this

var options = {type:"GET", url:remoteurl, success:callback, timeout:"300", dataType:"jsonp"};
var resp;
try {
    resp = $.ajax( options );
}catch (failed){
    alert("Remote call failed : " + failed);
}

So, whats going on ? Have I not understood this whole cross-domain thing [4], or is jQuery doing something strange ?

Well turns out that Ive forgotten a trick I used to get this to work before : whats actually going in is this

  • jQuery, rather than using xmlhttp request,  is making a DOM call to insert a <script> tag (which can make cross domain calls), because Ive specified dataType:”jsonp”.
  • The url for the script (specified in url:remoteurl) uses my new hostname – but – happens to include (specified in url:remoteurl) “&output=json” and the necessary SPARQL of course. [5]
  • The script tag gets processed making the GET call to the remote URL, the sparql runs on the remote/cross-domain server, and the JSON response is processed by the callback specified in the success:callback option
  • if you change it to a json call dataType:"json"
  • the request is made (and visible in remote access logs) but the response is aborted – Im not sure if its the browser doing this, or jQuery.

So, hey presto, JSONP where the server does not explicitely support it. However, it won’t work with POST of course (script tags), so for SPARQL update or insert it will be an issue. CORS really should be used here for that…..

Back to the real topic though, CORS. I installed the code [3], modified with some more debug logging so I could see what was going on. Having changed the client javascript to make a jQuery.$ajax call with dataType:json rather than jsonp I expected this to work straight out – after all, Gecko on Firefox 3.6 does the hard work with the headers [6] for “simple” requests (no credentials, not a POST, no custom [non http1.1] headers), so jQuery using XmlHttpRequest should be fine – but it was not. This turned out to be a false negative tho, as my broadband provider is being rubbish today, and when I switched to my rubbish 3G dongle it time out so often that it looked like failure.

Now the strange thing is that when I remove the CORSFilter servlet mapping from web.xml, jQuery still sends the dataType:json request, Joseki receives it, but the response is never processed by the callback. A Mozilla Hacks post [7] says this :

In Firefox 3.5 and Safari 4, a cross-site XMLHttpRequest will not successfully obtain the resource if the server doesn’t provide the appropriate CORS headers (notably the Access-Control-Allow-Origin header) back with the resource, although the request will go through. And in older browsers, an attempt to make a cross-site XMLHttpRequest will simply fail (a request won’t be sent at all).

Reverting to having the filter in place seems to fix things, but Im still not 100% convinced that things are correct.  I suppose the “will not successfully obtain the resource” is vague enough to be an acceptable explanantion for when I dont have CORSFilter in place, but I would have thought that sending the request and putting load on the network and target server wasn’t something that Mozilla really want to happen.

But when in place, the CORSFilter is getting the origin header, and setting the AC-AO response header, so its behaving.  I expect it will be different in a range of other browsers (ie Internet Exploder). So for now, its not broken, I’m not going to fix it any more. YMMV 🙂

And by the way, a t1.micro on EC2 isnt really up to it for even a smallish dataset of 340k triples. It does, just, but you get what you pay for here.

[4]http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Same_origin_policy
[5] http://sparql.dyndns-web.com:2020/lewist?output=json&query=PREFIX rdf:<http://www.w3.org/1999/02/22-rdf-syntax-ns#&gt; … …&callback=jsonp1291128738335
[6] https://developer.mozilla.org/en/HTTP_access_control

[7] http://hacks.mozilla.org/2009/07/cross-site-xmlhttprequest-with-cors/

  1. December 14, 2010 at 5:59 am

    For CORS apps the Firebug extension turned out to be one very neat debugging tool. It shows the complete header exchange between browser and server, including preflight requests.

    Here is another CORS servlet filter implementation. Compared to Jetty it adds support for the newer “expose-headers” spec; it also has a mechanism for tagging CORS requests so that downstream filters/handlers can log them or act specifically.

    I hope CORS will gradually become mainstream, JSONP is a not particularly elegant hack.

    • December 14, 2010 at 9:48 am

      Hi Vladimir – Firebug is great, indispensible I think – I couldn’t (wouldnt) do javascript without it. Perhaps my version is older than yours – I wasnt seeing preflight requests, or perhaps Ive turned an option off. Any more details ?

      Is that your own code ? Did you base it on the Jetty code ? Can people pick it up from Github, just copy-and-paste, or some such ?

      I think that CORS has a little battle to overcome before it becomes mainstream
      1) marketing – not enough people know about it
      1.1) spec – some people dont see CORS as much more than a whitelist, but it takes more than a server side whitelist to get this going
      1.2) js libs – need to promote it and talk about it, even if it turns out theres no direct need to do anything different in client side code
      2) implementation – its an overhead for everyone to have to write a filter to take-on CORS – there needs to be built in support in Tomcat and other app servers

      • December 14, 2010 at 2:23 pm

        If I knew Jetty had a CORS filter I wouldn’t have written one myself 🙂

        I coded it from scratch, following the W3C spec. A few implementation points needed clarification, and the spec manager, a guy from Opera Software, helped me with that. As you correctly observed, the CORS mechanism has a few snags and was not exactly trivial to implement.

        No, I haven’t posted my code to Github yet. There was little interest for the filter, judging by the amount of downloads I get. Most browsers support CORS as of 2010. But you’re right, developers are still unaware of it. JavaScript libraries and web servers could silently add support for CORS, in a transparent fashion, and that would probably be a good step forward.

        All my web software ships now with CORS support. I started with Json2Ldap, a software for JSON-RPC access to LDAP directories, which should also serve cross-domain requests. Due to the completely transparent nature of the servlet filter, CORS can be retrofitted to any existing Java web app. Just put the filter JAR in the classpath and define a filter mapping in web.xml. The default access policy is “*” (any), which should probably be okay for most situations.

  1. December 14, 2010 at 8:18 pm
  2. December 17, 2010 at 4:29 pm
Comments are closed.
